Guilt (sometime in December 2018)

People who are overflowing with kindness
Have never feared the dark
And how can I trust someone so naive
To what’s tearing me apart?

Their struggles are so trivial
I overflow with envy
Yet to them they need a friend
One whom I cannot be

I apologize for failing yet again
Disappointment in your eyes
But honestly, in all honesty, I cannot
Dry your tears and sympathize

The nightmares that plague your dreams
Once in a blue moon
Haunt my every fucking waking hour
Their roots in full bloom

I’m deeply sorry you feel this pain
No one’s joy should crumble
But come closer and you’ll see where I slit my skin
The last time I stumbled

Am I terrible for not being there
For scoffing at your show?
Darling, no good deed goes unpunished
That I accepted long ago

Go confide in all those friends you have
By being so damn kind
You’ll find me in the corner all alone
Suffocating in my mind

Leave a comment